1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.



Updated July 16, 2008


Authorization for states to develop Medicaid programs that differ from the standard federal program.

States must apply for waivers if they want to develop a Medicaid program that has unique eligibility requirements or operates like a managed care organization.

There are three different types of Medicaid waivers:

  • Section 1115 waivers for research and demonstration projects designed to temporarily test expanded eligibility or coverage options
  • Section 1915(b) waivers which allow states to develop Medicaid managed care plans
  • Section 1915(c) Home and Community-Based Services waivers which allow beneficiaries to receive long-term care benefits outside of institutional settings

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.